Album Title : Roustabout
Catalogue Number : LSP - 2999
Year Release : 20th October 1964

Side 1 : Roustabout - Little Egypt - Poison Ivy League - Hard Knocks - It's A Wonderful World - Big Love, Big Heartache
Side 2 : One Track Heart - It's Carnival Time - Carny Town - There's A Brand New Day On The Horizon - Wheels On My Heels

Brief History :

Roustabout is the twenty-first album by Elvis Presley, released on RCA Victor Records in mono and stereo, LPM/LSP 2999, in October 1964. Recording sessions took place at Radio Recorders in Hollywood, California, on March 2 and 3, and April 29, 1964. It peaked at #1 on the Billboard Top Pop Albums chart. It was certified Gold on 5/20/1988 by the R.I.A.A. The album would be Presley's final soundtrack to reach #1 and his last #1 album until 1973's Aloha From Hawaii: Via Satellite.

Payments to Presley for each film amounted to between $225,000 to $1,000,000 up front, often half the budget for production, with a 50% share of the profits. These movies were being shot in sometimes as little as three weeks, with the complete scoring and recording of the soundtrack albums taking no more than two weeks. It fell to Colonel Parker's lieutenant Freddy Bienstock to ensure that the soundtrack songs fit into the profit equation with the publishing controlled by Elvis Presley Music or Gladys Music, the Hill and Range Publishing companies owned by Elvis and the Colonel. As a result, successful writers such as Doc Pomus and Mort Shuman, Otis Blackwell and Winfield Scott, and Don Robertson lost interest in adhering to the needs of the grind. It was interlocking self-promotion, causing one MGM employee to remark that the movies "didn't need titles. They could be numbered. They would still sell.

Blackwell and Scott in fact submitted a candidate for the title track, "I'm A Roustabout" recorded on March 3, only to find it substituted by a song from a different team of writers. This recording was eventually released by RCA on the top-selling 2003 compilation 2nd to None.

Presley and his coterie of top session musicians gamely plowed through all of this, and eleven songs were recorded for the twenty-minute soundtrack LP.